27 Bryant Line. Outbound. 12:32PM. 7.5.11

Heres the 2nd event of 5th:

So I get back to 5th and market. Same location as earlier. This was my relief trip so I wanted to get off on time but with all the construction on Bush and Jones, by the time I got to 5th I was already down 4 minutes and on the 27, those 4 minutes are hard…very hard to get back.

So as I open the doors to start loading up people the 4th or 5th person on the bus is this tall black dude with an orange polo shirt, khaki pants and dark frame glasses. First thing he says is:

“tomorrow night I’m going to be in the mission”

And he walks back and repeats it 4 more times. I’m thinking to myself ‘ ehh maybe dude just high or something’ and take off. Well, we get down a couple blocks and he says it again hella loud another 5 times. Now I’m starting to think ‘ya this dude not all there.’

So we get to 5th and Harrison and all of a sudden I hear him say “no one loves me” a couple of times and then BAM BAM BAM BAM BAM! and I’m thinking I either ran something over or somebody is on the outside trying to get in. So on the 3rd BAM I look back into the bus and see this dude pounding on the window and as I’m about to say something he stops and points to something out the window.

AINT NOTHING OUT THE WINDOW

So some lady starts talking to him; asking him if he’s alright and asking him some other questions and he doesn’t respond to her questions so she leaves him alone. I get down to 11th and Harrison and he starts up again. This time he says “I’m stupid, no one loves me” and he says it 4 more times and he gets louder. Now at this time this *other* lady I guess saw that she was going to correct dudes thoughts about life. So she gets all next to dude and starts having the conversation where she was saying you’re not stupid and how people he knows are the ones filling his mind with all this junk and how he shouldn’t believe anything negative. So she got this speech/therapy session going and i pull up to 16th and Bryant and start loading up people. I think hear her getting all louder and she comes up to the front still yelling ” don’t think like that. oh thank you bus driver this is my stop” and gets off the bus. Damn she basically hyped up dude with her speech and got off hahah. So im hoping dude don’t loose it between the next 8 blocks because I want to get off and go home.

We get down a couple more blocks and im sure he said something else along the lines like “I want to die” or “I want to cry,” and im thinking to myself lemme make it, lemme make it. So I get to 24th and pop the brake, put it in neutral and grab my stuff. I see my relief and tell him how the route is looking and tell him that there is some dude on the bus talking to himself. He goes “when isn’t there one?” and we both start laughing and I take off walking. I look in to the side of the bus and see crazy dude reading a book or some papers. Maybe dude was reading a script? nah dude is crazy.

One Response to “27 Bryant Line. Outbound. 12:32PM. 7.5.11”

  1. […] Bus Driver Stories What I've Seen From The Seat « 27 Bryant Line. Outbound. 12:32PM. 7.5.11 […]

Leave a Reply

