27 Bryant Line. Outbound. 9:01AM. 7.5.11

It’s funny to me when people try to scam the system. I’m just saying if you get caught,just man up and pay the fare and keep it moving. Anyways this is story 1 of 2 today. 

So I get to 5th and Market and start loading up my people. As I’m handing out transfers and talking with people, I’m surveying the crowd and notice this one dude I picked up last week who had no money and gave me a story to why he didn’t have it. He’s a Goofy looking dude with his Hawaiian shirt and some shorts and a black bag with some stuff in it. So I see him today and well…he’s gonna pay since he rode free last time. He is the last one to get on so I already get that “feeling” that he is gonna ask for another free ride.

NOPE. NOT GONNA HAPPEN.

So he gets on and the convo goes like this:
Him-“hey bus driver can I get a ride?”
Me-“where you trying to go?”
Him-“I’m going to pick up my check. ”

Now mind you, this is the *EXACT* same thing that happened last Friday, so I KNOW he doesn’t remember me for squat. So on friday I told him to have the correct fare next time and let him ride. TODAY, it went different.

Me-“you told me that already. You gonna have to put something in the box”
Him- (starts putting in change) ” I need a transfer. ”
Me-(looks at the farebox and it says 40¢) “you can ride but you ain’t gettin a transfer on 40 cents.”
Him-(pulls out what looks like 14 cents more and holds it in his hand)” but I gave you everything.”
Me-“well you might as well sit down because you ain’t getting a transfer. ”

So he walks back and takes a seat. So by the time he sits down were already at Harrison and 5th where I’ma turn and load/unload some people. I can hear him fidgeting around with his bag so I’m like whatever. I go 2 more stops(7th) and as I’m closing my door after loading up someone, he comes back up to the front and goes:
Him-“so if u give you the rest of my change, can I get a transfer? I need a transfer. ”
Me- “it better be 35 cents if you want that transfer. ”
So take a quick peek over my shoulder and he goes back and sits down. I get to 8th and open the door because someone wants to get off and he’s the first one out the door.

Just another SMH moment.

Leave a Reply

